Author Topic: John Armstrong lock question  (Read 8353 times)

Offline Shreckmeister

• GGGG Grandpa Schrecengost Gunsmith/Miller
John Armstrong lock question
« on: June 15, 2013, 11:03:17 PM »
Admittedly, I am a novice in the area of lock conversion.  There is a John Armstrong rifle in the ALR library that one of the committee members states
"This is certainly one of Armstrong's best rifles and that it has stayed percussion is nothing short of amazing, for it was made as such."  I see a sideplate with
2 screws, a lockplate that looks like the engraving around the nipple does not match the engraving around the rest of the lockplate and what looks like the
remnants of a pan between the nipple and the hammer.  Here is the link to the Armstrong, which by the was is one awesome rifle.  Somebody please help me to understand what I am seeing.

http://americanlongrifles.org/forum/index.php?topic=5565.0
« Last Edit: June 15, 2013, 11:10:57 PM by Shreckmeister »
Rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the rights of the individual.

Offline tallbear

• Global Moderator
  • Mitch Yates
Re: John Armstrong lock question
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2013, 11:23:13 PM »
There is no sign of a frizzen spring on the lock plate even though there is evidence of a pan,so I believe the belief is that Armstrong made the lock and rifle as a percussion not as a flint.The amazing part is that it wasn't converted to flint thus increasing it's value in present times.

Mitch Yates
« Last Edit: June 15, 2013, 11:29:04 PM by aka tallbear »

Offline Buck

• A.F.A.M. # 934, Trinity Commandry #80
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2013, 12:59:35 AM »
Rob,