Author Topic: Drop for a fowler  (Read 11909 times)

Offline David Rase

• If we need it here, make it here. Charlie Daniels
Drop for a fowler
« on: May 19, 2014, 06:23:19 AM »
Going to be building a 12g fowler soon.  On average, how much drop does one normally have?  Not familiar with fowlers all that much.
Thanks,
David

Offline Eric Krewson

Re: Drop for a fowler
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2014, 03:41:24 PM »
I am far from an expert but I assumed the measurements taken from my "try" stock should be transposed to my latest fowler project. The end result was a gun that fits me like a glove with sights(put a rear sight on for turkey hunting) that align perfectly every time I shoulder it.

Offline Acer Saccharum

• Administrator
    • Thomas  A Curran
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2014, 03:58:35 PM »
Rase, if I must talk to you, I will.

I have an original HVF in shop, the drop is no more than 2 1/2" at the heel. The comb is slightly rounded in profile, from heel to tip of comb. At the highest point in the arc, where your fat cheek would rest, it is parallel with the sighting plane. So no matter how much kick is generated, your cheekbone will be unscathed. 13 1/2 LOP.
Tom Curran's web site : http://monstermachineshop.net
Ramrod scrapers are all sold out.

Offline Long John

• Give me Liberty or give me Death
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2014, 04:40:16 PM »
I have a fowler in the planning stage right now.  I took the drop measurements from a rifle that I can shoot with my eyes closed - it fits me so well - and I added the height of the sights above the barrel to come up with a drop that I "think" (actually hope) will place the sighting plane of the barrel right where it is for the rifle.  I plan to make the front sight just tall enough to be just barely visible above the breach.  I think (actually hope) that it will shoot point of aim set up that way.

Wait around a year or two and I'll let you know if it works out.

Best Regards,

John Cholin

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3