Author Topic: Newby with questions on three long rifles  (Read 5376 times)

Mullen Coins

Newby with questions on three long rifles
« on: May 27, 2014, 05:24:04 PM »
I am a bit of a novice on Long Rifles and hoping I might get some feedback from the experts.  I am looking at possibly buying three long rifles from a client (I am a coin/currency dealer) but I know very little about these.   The images are not what I would like but all I could do taking them at my client's home.   I welcome any feedback and questions.  I'll have a chance to look more closely at these guns in the near future.

Here are images.

The first is a Tiger Wood that appears to have been modified - no flash pan.

The second is what appears to be a totally original piece but the markings are not clear. There is signature like engraving on the top of the barrel but worn to a point that I can do read it. I am post images of a carving on the stock but again not certain if this helps identify the gun. Hoping the stock carving an "star" might be helpful.

The third is marked as a John McCamant Wellsborough and has a W T Howell action. this gun does have a bit of rust near the end of the barrel.

Offline JTR

• member 2
Re: Newby with questions on three long rifles
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2014, 05:30:51 PM »
So the 'client' doesn't have any info on the guns?
John
John Robbins

Mullen Coins

« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2014, 05:44:31 PM »
No... these were my client's father's guns and they have been on display in my client's home for 25+ years.

brooktrout

« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2014, 07:57:05 PM »