Author Topic: Copper Brazing Experiment  (Read 4171 times)

Offline Curtis

• Missouri
Copper Brazing Experiment
« on: August 31, 2014, 08:01:21 AM »
Copper Brazing... never knew it existed until Jerry Huddleston recently recommended it for parts that will be eventually color cased.  He later changed his recommendation for that particular application to pure silver, however the idea stuck in my head and was put on a mental shelf for future reference.

Jerry recommended using an .002 copper shim.  The other day I was discarding an ancient computer hard drive (I am a computer nerd by trade) and noticed it had a seal of copper foil wrapped around it.  A light went on in my head - thin copper stock!! I pealed off as much of it as I could and saved it for later.  After cleaning off some sticky adhesive residue, it miked about .003 or less.  I just happened to have a rear sight that I wanted to make taller and decided it would make a great experiment to see if I could do some copper brazing.  If I decide to use the sight it will be charcoal blued.   I may well be pushing the temperature range for silver solder, but will be safely below copper, silver or brass melting temps.

Here is a somewhat blurry photo of the salvaged copper foil:

This is what I used for flux.  I have had good luck using borax when brazing with brass scraps, as well as a combination of borax and My-T-Flux for brass and pure silver.  More on that in another post later...

I floated the steel parts to be joined on a mill file, then painted a coat of MY-T-Flux on the steel surfaces and both sides of the cleaned up copper foil.

Sandwiched the copper and clamped with an old C clamp.  I used the nail in top of the sight to allow more surface area to be exposed to the torch flame, as well as to provided clearance of the C-clamp.

Sprinkled on some borax just in case, instead of shaking a WOOWOO stick.  Thank you Mike Brooks.   ;)