Author Topic: New Horn problem  (Read 6649 times)

HighlandGunner

New Horn problem
« on: October 07, 2014, 09:17:13 PM »
Hi everyone,  I just joined the site and am amazed at the knowledge of the members.  I have been shooting muzzleloaders for 32 years and Re-enacting for a little over 20.  I just got the bug again to make another powder horn and just as I started it I ran into a problem.  I decided to drill a pilot hole in the neck with an 1/8" drill bit and the bit snapped off.  now I need to remove the piece that is still in the horn..... Thoughts?

Cheers

Jay

Offline Carl Dumke

Re: New Horn problem
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2014, 09:30:37 PM »
Jay,
Never been there--riggghhttt ;)  I use to drill pilot holes early on and have had my share of broke bits.  The problem is the bit bites in to the horn, stops, and the torqe from the drill breaks the bit  (as both of us and many more on this site have experienced).  I tend to go right to the large bit or even a spade bit as it will tend not to grab the horn as it advances.  As for your problem, I have had some luck with screw extractor bits to get far enough it there (if it broke off towards the tip) and then use needle-nose pliers to grab the exposed end--still a $#@* shoot as it is tough not to continue to break off smaller sections of the bit. 

BTW--if you can't get it out, dont pitch a perfectly good horn--use it for bands, cups, inlays...

Carl

Offline J Henry

« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2014, 09:40:19 PM »
 Try this site for horn questions  www.thehornersbench.com   great site for such..
« Last Edit: October 07, 2014, 09:46:27 PM by J Henry »

Offline T.C.Albert

• Global Moderator
    • the hunting pouch
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2014, 03:25:03 AM »
Using a heavy bent copper or iron rod, heat it red hot with a torch and carefully burn the spout out  from the back end...you ought to hit the bit, then you can then hopefully knock the bit into the cavity....note: burning horn stinks....bad!