Author Topic: Lock welding question  (Read 3864 times)

Offline Robby

• NYSSR ―
Lock welding question
« on: February 17, 2009, 06:01:32 PM »
I would like to modify the cock on a L&R, Manton & Ashmore lock to more closely approximate a double throated lock in the "Mortimer" book, by welding (gas, because thats what I have) in a piece and filing to shape. I don't have any scraps from old locks to experiment with and I am concerned that, being a casting, it might cave in or fall away (my terms,?) when it begins to puddle. I have never tried this before with a lock casting, but attempting to weld castings of a similar nature I have had this "falling away" occur. A better, more experienced gas welder probably could have made it work, I could not. I hope I explained this clear enough, any thoughts would be appreciated.
Robby
molon labe
We the people are the rightful masters of both Congress and the courts, not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow the men who pervert the Constitution. A. Lincoln

Offline Longknife

Re: Lock welding question
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2009, 06:53:14 PM »
I recently mig welded an L&R cast lock plate and had no problems....I don't think there would be a problem....Ed
Ed Hamberg

Offline Acer Saccharum

• Administrator
    • Thomas  A Curran
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2009, 06:53:50 PM »
I have welded modern castings with oxy-act, with no burning or falling apart of the original casting. Original casehardened locks sometimes spark and fizzle, fall apart, crack, etc. They can be really hard to weld.

I think TIG would be the way to go with this kind of project. I am not a skilled enough welder with gas to know I have a good weld. If you are a good gas welder, you should do OK.
Tom Curran's web site : http://monstermachineshop.net
Ramrod scrapers are all sold out.

Offline Brian

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2009, 07:16:24 PM »