Author Topic: Set Trigger and or lock problem  (Read 3450 times)

Randy in WVA

Set Trigger and or lock problem
« on: December 10, 2014, 09:28:33 PM »
Greetings fellows..recently joined this fine site and I must say that there is an abundance of good advice and tips..I have been shooting flintlocks for over 30 years that began when my father brought home a T/C Hawken he won in a plant raffle..I have recently been working on my own build in the form of a  Lancaster / Lebanon county longRifle. As a Journeyman Machinist by trade, half the fun has been in the form of making jigs and tools for the build to be honest, although I must add I have tried to use traditional methods such as scraping, and only a power hand drill...the problem I am having though is perplexing and I cannot figure it out...I took my Siler lock apart to polish it and re-assembled it with no issues, and fly installed...the lock engages fully at half cock and full cock and does not slip..however, when I set the rear trigger and depress the front trigger to fire it, nothing happens but a click...if I re-set the rear trigger and depress the front trigger a second time it fires without issue...this is consistent and is always in the same way..set-pull-click....set-pull- lock fires...the lock sparks really well and is very smooth...I have also double checked that there is no wood interference...I cant figure this out for the life of me and wonder if has ever happened to any of you...any help would be greatly appreciated!!! Again, this site is wonderful and all of the posts I have seen here reflect a vast amount of knowledge and experience! Thank Guys!

Offline Dr. Tim-Boone

• Global Moderator
  • I Like this hat!!
Re: Set Trigger and or lock problem
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2014, 10:08:41 PM »