Author Topic: Figuring out my smoothbore pistol  (Read 3695 times)

The Goose

Figuring out my smoothbore pistol
« on: April 21, 2015, 11:51:25 PM »
I am relatively new to shooting muzzleloaders, compared to most folks here. And I am really new to shooting a flintlock pistol. I got this one from TOW, it is .60 smoothbore and is marked M.A. Taylor, Sheffield. It is my first ML pistol. Now that the weather is warmer I have been shooting more and I really enjoy this pistol. Initially I found that a .600 Lee ball was way too tight. I could not get even the thinnest patch to work. So I went to a .595 ball with a .015 patch and 50 grains of Goex 2F. It was extremely tight  to the point that after a few shots I could barely get the ball down the barrel. I tried a bare .595 ball, but if I lowered the barrel it would just roll out. I figured that was not a great idea. I tried a .010 patch and that seemed perfect, but for the heck of it I tried a .600 ball without any patch. It seated firmly and did not roll out, but it seemed a bit erratic in terms of accuracy. Today I hit the range and played around again. I think I am beginning to get close. At a friends advice I lowered the charge to 40 grains of Goex 3F under a .595 ball and a .010 patch. The group below is 10 shots at about 25 feet. All else aside I am just having a great time with this pistol. A lot of fun!

Offline wattlebuster

Re: Figuring out my smoothbore pistol
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2015, 02:45:43 AM »
Good looking gun and group. Have you tried any shot loads yet
Nothing beats the feel of a handmade southern iron mounted flintlock on a cold frosty morning

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2015, 06:50:23 PM »
I am happy for your acquisition, and the joy it has given you.  I'd like to suggest the following: