Author Topic: Reconverting from percussion to flintlock?  (Read 10850 times)

monro1066

Reconverting from percussion to flintlock?
« on: June 23, 2015, 08:28:01 AM »
I would like opinions on re-converting back to flint.The gun I have in mind has an original "flint to percussion" in period conversion and yes would look nice reconverted back  to flint .
I am keen to hear what opinions are out there .
I am new here and am very keen to not make what seems an easy mistake of over care
on a rifle.  Personally I have learned a lot on the "Cleaning Original Longrifle  thread so far.
 Monro .
« Last Edit: June 23, 2015, 02:40:35 PM by Dr. Tim-Boone »

Online Dennis Glazener

• Administrator
    • GillespieRifles
Re: Reconverting from percussion to flintlock?
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2015, 03:32:36 PM »
I will comment on this but I am not an expert, just know how I feel about the converted flint that I have. Mine is an original flinter made by my GG Uncle Mathew Gillespie. I feel sure it is the original lock that sometime along the line, was converted to percussion. Sometime before I bought the rifle someone converted it back to flint. They did a fairly good job but I can still see where the lock plate was cut/welded to receive the donor pan/frizzen. It bothers me, kind of like a repair that I had to make on a rifle that I've built. You know the kind, probably no one but you notices it but its still there. Also the cock just crys "modern replacement" and that bothers me as well. While the outside is not terribly noticeable, when you look at the inside of the lock the re-conversion is glaring.

I don't think I would mind the re-conversion if it wasn't as noticeable, maybe done with proper donor parts. I guess what I am trying to say is either have it done properly or leave it as found.
Dennis
« Last Edit: June 23, 2015, 03:34:08 PM by Dennis Glazener »