Author Topic: A newby's experience with Aqua fortis and finishing (pictures added)  (Read 6383 times)

Offline davebozell

I've been building a TOTW "kit" now for about 3 1/2 years now and finally got up the courage to put some finish on it.  This has definitely been the scariest part of the build for me.  I used Waukon Bay aqua fortis and am now applying Chambers Traditional Oil Stock Finish.  Will I need to apply another oil finish over the Chamber's oil?

I would not have been able to put the Aqua fortis on this rifle without reading all the posts on this topic on this forum.  I mean really...the stuff comes out of the bottle yellow and quickly turns the whole thing "poplar" green.  Scared me to death.  I'm still trying to figure out how someone figured this all out 200+ years ago.  Thanks to everyone who shares/shared their experiences with this stuff.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2015, 08:50:19 PM by davebozell »

thimble rig

Re: Dumb question number 37
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2015, 09:07:32 PM »
That's sounds just like me Im also finishing my tow kit up little over 2 years.I f that going to work thing didn't get in the way I might get something done.Im trying the chambers oil finish also.Put the first 2 coats on with a bursh andlet it soak in then 6 light coats rubbed in with your hand.then knock the gloss off if you want a duller finish then wax .

Offline moleeyes36

« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2015, 10:12:52 PM »
Dave,

If you haven't neutralized that Waukon Bay stuff yet with an application of household ammonia, I suggest you do that before applying any finish.  Most of the commercial solutions called aqua fortis are pretty acidic and can continue to darken the wood for weeks if not neutralized.