Author Topic: ball size?  (Read 15883 times)

Leon

ball size?
« on: March 15, 2009, 03:09:57 AM »
I'm in a bit of a quandry as to which size mold to purchase in .58 cal.. I have a rifle with a Rice barrel in .58 and so far I have shot a half a box of swaged .570 ball through it. I'm using pillow ticking for a patch and they seat very tight. I was thinking about getting a Lee mold but they only offer one in .575 or .562. I'm not sure what the thickness of my patching material is but it works quite well with the .570 and thats the only size roundball that I can find. My next project will be a small game flintlock and that and my plains rifle will be shot the most so I have no problem purchasing pricey molds for them. Would a .575 and a thinner patch still shoot as good as a thicker patch and the .570? I'm pretty new to this and I hope my questions are not too elementary. Leon

chapmans

Re: ball size?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2009, 05:03:05 AM »
Leon,
  It all depends on who you ask some will shoot .575's without effort, my .58 is snug with .570's but I like the way it shoots them, but when hunting I put ,565's in the loading block as they load easier when in the field dirty with the rod in the gun. The best way to find out is buy some different sized balls and wring the gun out then buy that size mold. You may find you want 2 sizes one for target and a smaller one for hunting.
   Regards, Steve C.

Offline hanshi

• My passion is longrifles!
    • martialartsusa.com
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2009, 06:28:49 AM »