Author Topic: I found an old Percussion rifle, could use some help.  (Read 11305 times)

silly goose

I found an old Percussion rifle, could use some help.
« on: January 08, 2016, 02:45:15 AM »
Hi, folks.  I came across what appears to be an old percussion rifle in my travels.  The lady who owns it, says it was her father's rifle and it was made by Henry Behr of West VA.  I have pics on my cell phone if anyone could help me post them.  If not I will have to wait until my wife has the time to do it.  Sorry, I'm no techie.  It appears to be a heavy barreled octagon .45.  I believe the lock says "Golcher" on it.  Brass hardware.  Nose cap appears to be riveted on with 4 copper rivets.  Breech plug tang has fractured at some point and stands proud of the screw.  The hammer is loose on the lock, but other than that it appears to be in really good shape with strong rifling.  The inletting appears to be well done, and there is a silver deer inlet into the cheek. 

I actually met this lady about a year and a half ago, when she showed me the rifle.  I finally got the nerve up to go speak to her about it again, and told her I would like to find out more about it.  She said she would like to find a home for it, so I said to let me find out what it may be worth and if it was within my range, I would buy it from her.  She said she wasn't interested in money, she wanted to make sure it had a home that appreciated it.  I told her that for now we will just try and see what we can find out about this rifle and that I wouldn't take advantage of her, for sure. 

Like I said, if someone can help me with pics from my phone, I'd appreciate it, if not, I'll have to wait until momma comes home.  Thanks for any help you can lend.  I am very excited about this rifle.

silly goose

Re: I found an old Percussion rifle, could use some help.
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2016, 06:05:45 AM »

Offline Nate McKenzie

• Luzerne Co. PA
    • Nathan McKenzie Gunmaker