Author Topic: Set Trigger?  (Read 6131 times)

Offline Eric Krewson

Set Trigger?
« on: February 04, 2016, 03:52:12 AM »
When you guys inlet double set triggers, how close to the sear do you inlet to with your trigger bars? I have my front and back trigger bars hitting exactly like the picture in the tutorial.

Should I go deeper to have less creep on the front trigger and less trigger pull by having it striking closer to the pivot pin.

I am building a tennessee rifle and could go deeper as I left a little wood on the belly for adjustments.

This is my first build with double set triggers, I have used single triggers in the past.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2016, 03:53:29 AM by Eric Krewson »

Offline retired fella

Re: Set Trigger?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2016, 04:23:48 AM »
When the set is tripped does it also trip the sear?  If so if you have too much play in the front trigger (using as a single trigger) can you build that plate up to reduce your trigger creep?

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2016, 04:25:52 AM »
Both triggers work great, the lock goes off like it should.

Offline retired fella

« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2016, 04:33:01 AM »
I'd say you got'er done.  Send pictures as you go.  I would be interested.

Offline bama

• Calvary Longrifles
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2016, 05:42:17 AM »
What you have shown is the correct arrangement for a double lever double set trigger. This arrangement will allow the sear to be tripped with the triggers set or unset. You can set the arrangement deeper into the stock, you may have to reduce the height of the trigger bars so the lock can be cocked without setting the set trigger.
Jim Parker

"An Honest Man is worth his weight in Gold"

Offline frogwalking

« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2016, 06:05:02 AM »