Author Topic: How do I get Lighter finish  (Read 3288 times)

Offline Wyoduster

How do I get Lighter finish
« on: April 10, 2016, 11:38:05 PM »
I'm new to gun building...  ::)  I have a beautiful piece of culy Maple I'm ready to put on the finishing touches and ....Now what?? I read alot about aqua fortis.. looks to make a dark reddish stock.. I'd like a lighter stock so how do I go about it??? :-\??????

Offline smylee grouch

Re: How do I get Lighter finish
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2016, 12:25:42 AM »
Some have diluted the aqua fortis and not put as many coats on. There are a lot of other staining options too.

Offline Wyoduster

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2016, 12:49:59 AM »
Some have diluted the aqua fortis and not put as many coats on. There are a lot of other staining options too.
OK Options??
 Why aqua fortis instead of aniline dye??

Hemo

« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2016, 12:57:38 AM »
Dilute aquafortis would probably work, but aniline dyes are okay too. Laurel Mountain Forge makes a "Honey Maple" stain which is quite light, and could be diluted further, applied in several applications until you get the color you want. Test well on a scrap piece before you go to the finished stock!
There are those who say aniline dyes are not as color fast in sunlight as aquafortis, though I've not had problems with the Laurel Mountain Forge stains.
(Of course, aquafortis is more historically correct than aniline dyes.)

Gregg

Offline flinchrocket

« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2016, 03:57:29 AM »
LMF stains can be mixed with their sealer. Pick the color and add it to the sealer until it is the shade you
want on a scrape piece from your stock. Stain and seal at the same time. Just mix enough to cover the stock, if you get it a little darker than you like just add more sealer to the mix.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2016, 03:58:53 AM by flinchrocket »

JoeG

« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2016, 04:43:32 AM »
use a 10% solution of Nitric acid
coat stock and then apply heat