Author Topic: 1810 firearm question.  (Read 6054 times)

Jammin Jim

1810 firearm question.
« on: April 10, 2009, 08:48:12 PM »
I'm new to the site, and if I posted this in the wrong area please let me know. Maybe someone can help me find which type of firearm a free trapper in 1810 might have carried.  I am just getting started in the Mountain man Rendezvous reenactments and I am a perfectionist so want some ideas of what firearms someone would have carried into the Rocky mountains during the period from 1810-1820.

Thanks.

Jim

Offline T*O*F

Re: 1810 firearm question.
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2009, 12:06:37 AM »
Maybe someone can help me find which type of firearm a free trapper in 1810 might have carried.

The correct answer is A.  Any firearm made before 1810.  That's my final answer as there are no other choices.
Dave Kanger

If religion is opium for the masses, the internet is a crack, pixel-huffing orgy that deafens the brain, numbs the senses and scrambles our peer list to include every anonymous loser, twisted deviant, and freak as well as people we normally wouldn't give the time of day.
-S.M. Tomlinson

Offline Stophel

• Chris Immel
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2009, 12:12:41 AM »
Look at some of the Henry rifles made for the western trade.  That's a good place to start.

And I'll second TOF.  Whatever was made before then.
When a reenactor says "They didn't write everything down"   what that really means is: "I'm too lazy to look for documentation."

Sean

« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2009, 01:40:51 AM »