Author Topic: Grain runout question  (Read 3044 times)

Tennessee.45

Grain runout question
« on: March 04, 2017, 06:26:02 PM »
I'm trying to lay out the pattern on my plank for this build, since I've never used a plank before I just want to make sure I have a strong wrist and avoid snapping it.

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Grain runout question
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2017, 06:53:09 PM »
Can you show a picture of the end grain on the buttstock end of the plank?
Andover, Vermont

Tennessee.45

« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2017, 07:32:40 PM »
Hope these are what your asking for

« Last Edit: March 04, 2017, 08:05:45 PM by Tennessee.45 »

Offline T*O*F

« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2017, 08:28:19 PM »
The end grain he is asking for is the picture with the black paint covering it up.  If that grain could be seen, it could be determined if you have a quarter sawn blank or a slab cut blank and which side the grain tends toward.
Dave Kanger

If religion is opium for the masses, the internet is a crack, pixel-huffing orgy that deafens the brain, numbs the senses and scrambles our peer list to include every anonymous loser, twisted deviant, and freak as well as people we normally wouldn't give the time of day.
-S.M. Tomlinson

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2017, 08:34:30 PM »
Looks quarter sawn to me, from that first image.
D. Taylor Sapergia
www.sapergia.blogspot.com

Art is not an object.  It is the excitement inspired by the object.

Tennessee.45

« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2017, 08:55:32 PM »
It's a blank from Dunlap, grade 3 sugar maple, if that helps

Offline BJH

« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2017, 09:10:35 PM »
Tennessee, can you cut about 1/4 inch off the butt, then we could give you a bit more educated advise. When cut if you see the growth rings crossing the butt stock long ways your fine it's plank sawn. BJH
BJH

Offline BOB HILL

« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2017, 10:01:05 PM »