Author Topic: First Build, Hawkens Style .054 Cal. Half Stock  (Read 3010 times)

Ray Pennington

First Build, Hawkens Style .054 Cal. Half Stock
« on: March 14, 2017, 05:45:20 PM »
Gentlemen, this is my first time on the forum since February 2014 when I was asking a thousand questions about building a Hawkens style rifle with my W.M. Large .054 cal barrel that I acquired.  I copied all your comments and suggestions and have compiled 2 3-ring binders with these along with many other articles and pictures and horror stories about NOT building the rifle as my first build.  Well gentlemen, I am in the process of building this rifle with a lot of guidance from Bob Roller, great man by the way. Bob and I live within 10 minutes of one another.  I purchased a pre-inlet (barrel only), Hawkens half stock from T.O.W. and had to return it due to the ram rod hole completely out of align. I purchased the second one from them and looked very good with the exception of the inlet was deeper than I realized until after I had already completed the inlet along with the long beavertail tang, I have already dovetailed the barrel lugs and have keyed the barrel in place, and have inlet the entrance thimble, this is when I realized the there wasn't much wood left beneath the barrel +- 3/16".  I still have enough room to clamp, drill and pin the thimble in place.  Here's my two questions: 1.  Do I go ahead and pin the thimble in place or just leave it clamped until the nose cap in inlet and screwed in place.  2.  Now the barrel rib is approximately 1/16 to 3/32" high, can I round file the rib to match the nose cap and entrance thimble back about half way with a slight slope? I don't think it would be noticeable. 
I will be using Bob's double trigger and lock.   Again I appreciate all the help you all have afforded me in the past.

Offline Mike Brooks

• Mike Brooks Gunmaker
Re: First Build, Hawkens Style .054 Cal. Half Stock
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2017, 05:49:41 PM »