Author Topic: Help, Goodoien barrel shooters!  (Read 10311 times)

Tryon52

Help, Goodoien barrel shooters!
« on: August 08, 2017, 12:06:10 AM »
I'm a first time newbie to the forum.
This sport of muzzleloading is truly a love/hate relationship!
I have a flintlock made up with a Goodoien 40"x15/16"x.40cal barrel. It refuses to group under 2" at 50yds off a bag! I've tried everything-

55gr of 3f (I've also tried 45, 50, 60, 65, 70)
.395 and .400 ball
spit lube, neatsfoot oil, bees wax/neatsfoot, balistol/water mix
strip pillow ticking ranging from .012-.015
load is snug and goes down with a two hand push, but no hammering
spue always up and centered
I've tried GOEX 3f & 2f & SWISS 1.5f
I've pulled the breech and checked for problems. Bore is as shiny as a baby's ...........

Oh its had moments of brilliance, but once in a blue moon and with no consistency. My bench shooting technique is good as I often do heavy barrel .22 benchrest.
My other ML's can shoot the pants off this thing, and their basically off hand rifles! This is suppose to be a "TARGET RIFLE"!!
I'm real close to turning this thing into a .40cal floor lamp!
What the ....?
Any suggestions?

Offline little joe

Re: Help, Goodoien barrel shooters!
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2017, 12:56:04 AM »
Are the other rifles flint or percussion?  I know the 22s are not flint and do not compare a ML to  the late stuff. Check your patching and if they are intact just more  practice.

Offline smokinbuck

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2017, 01:28:48 AM »
Looking for the condition of your fired patches will tell you a lot. You may also check to be certain there's no muzzle damage. Sounds more like patches though.
Mark
Mark

Tryon52

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2017, 01:34:09 AM »