Author Topic: Pecking away at my rifle.....  (Read 5142 times)

Uncle Alvah

Pecking away at my rifle.....
« on: January 29, 2018, 07:13:53 PM »
I have inlet the lock plate on my rifle. Frankly, I think it looks deplorable, I am more than somewhat disappointed in my results so far. That said, it is my first build, I have no deadline to work against, and I am both learning a lot and much enjoying the work. I believe/hope when the sidepanels are sanded down, the gaps around the plate will be less striking.

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Pecking away at my rifle.....
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2018, 07:47:06 PM »
Where are you at?  Somebody ought to be able to give you a quick inletting lesson.
Andover, Vermont

Offline Chowmi

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2018, 10:32:43 PM »
Alvah,
I'm not great a inletting, and have improved from appalling to OK with a bit of practice.
Take these comments as constructive, from someone who has buggered up a lot of inlets.

I think those gaps are going to notice when you sand down the lock panel. So be it. Not much to be done at this point.

Hard to tell from the pictures, but my guess is that you are the victim of chisels that are not sharp enough, as well as poor chisel shape choice and a bit of poor technique. Add to that, it looks to me like a bit of hurrying and frustration. Again, all criticism intended as constructive rather then negative.

Try some practice into a scrap piece of wood. Not Pine, something hard like Maple.
There are tutorials on inletting on this forum. Have a look at them.

Here's a few things that have worked for me. They are techniques, not absolutes.

Sharpen your chisels razor sharp. Easily cutting paper sharp. This is difficult to learn, at least for me....

Make sure you have a good bevel on the piece you are going to inlet. Doesn't need to be dramatic, just a few degrees.