Author Topic: Walnut stocked Colonial/early Independence longrifles?  (Read 3029 times)

Offline Cossack

Walnut stocked Colonial/early Independence longrifles?
« on: April 21, 2018, 03:26:27 AM »
I'm no expert and haven't built up a library on long rifles yet, and my Google skills aren't showing much, so I'm asking here:

How common was walnut as a stock material in Colonial-early 19th C America? Most 18th and early 19th Century longrifles I can find photographed have maple stocks unless they were imported from England or continental Europe. Yet I do see contemporary makers build walnut-stocked longrifles in the various Pennsylvania or Virginia styles, etc...

Is there much historical precedent for say a Bucks or Lancaster county longrifle in walnut? I'd love to see some photos, not just as proof, but for enjoyment.
Thanks!
Nick

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Walnut stocked Colonial/early Independence longrifles?
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2018, 05:25:47 AM »
#19 in Shumwa’s book Rifles of Colonial America is stocked in walnut and is likely pre-Revolutionary War, and  some attribute it to Andreas Albrecht.  A William Antes swivel barrel stocked in walnut may be a 1770s gun.  There are others but maple is king, number-wise, in early rifles.  Wallace Gusler wrote about anD showed the Old Holston rifle, mounted in iron and stocked in walnut, likely in the 1770s. 
Andover, Vermont

Offline Molly

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2018, 02:53:25 PM »
Looks like walnut was the wood for military and other wood for personal rifles.  Was it cost, availability, durability, carry-over from European ways???

Offline smart dog

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2018, 04:33:43 PM »
Hi Nick,