Author Topic: Tried & True Varnish OIl  (Read 4661 times)

Offline Mr. Bubbles

Re: Tried & True Varnish OIl
« Reply #25 on: August 22, 2018, 08:10:31 PM »
Well, 10 days since the last coat (which is the 4th or 5th coat I think) and it's hard enough to buff.  I buffed and buffed it, (those soft wheels attached to a drill and run at low speed seem to work even better than hand buffing) but the finish still feels about the roughness of about 2000 grit sand paper.  I want it to feel smooth as glass.  I guess that tells me the finish hasn't totally penetrated the wood substrate yet.  I want to stay away from using any sandpaper though.  I thin even 2000 grit is going to bore right on through those ultra thin coats.  Would you suggest rotten stone, and very sparingly?  I've never tried using that stuff before, but am anxious to learn.  I am after the most perfect finish I can do.

Offline G_T

« Reply #26 on: August 22, 2018, 08:50:47 PM »
There was mention of red die or stain fading with sunlight exposure... Alkanet root was the traditional red ingredient, IIRC (or at least one of them). I obtained some a year ago but haven't had the chance to experiment with it yet. Perhaps it would not fade with UV exposure.

Gerald

Offline flehto

« Reply #27 on: August 23, 2018, 08:38:55 PM »
I'm "gunshy" of using  finishes that have BLO in them and also don't like to rub out the shine w/ whatever abrasive one would use.

My finish requires 36 hrs to complete for 4 coats of 2 different finishes, 2 coats each and  because the final finish is very dull, have to rub w/ a fluffy towel to  achieve some  satin sheen. Shown below is the finish after a few minutes of the fluffy towel......Fred

Iktomi

« Reply #28 on: August 24, 2018, 05:33:38 PM »
I'm "gunshy" of using  finishes that have BLO in them and also don't like to rub out the shine w/ whatever abrasive one would use.