Author Topic: Kibler Kit Restoration  (Read 3479 times)

Offline Robin Henderson

• AKA "Wobblyshot"
Kibler Kit Restoration
« on: September 03, 2018, 02:16:02 AM »
Yes, restoration(didn't want to hijack the other kibler thread)....I agreed to donate my time to put a Kibler SMR kit together but when I received it I discovered that someone with an obvious lack of skill got to it before me. I am not a professional builder but what building I do I make my best attempt to do it neatly...here goes...The end of the fore stock was glued and clamped to correct that split. It looks pretty good but I thought I might pour a simple nose cap to further strengthen it. My biggest concern is the lock inlett. No draft had been filed in the lockplate and a little bit of over zealous chisel use has resulted in some small but glaring gaps. There were other small problems and I'll be ok fixing them. I guess I'm asking advice on hiding the gaps around the lock plate. I'm thinking stained acraglas and then finishing to try to hide...advise??:o

« Last Edit: September 03, 2018, 03:18:15 PM by Wobblyshot »
Flintlock is the only truly reliable source of ignition in a muzzle loader.

Offline Frank

Re: Kibler Kit Restoration
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2018, 02:29:50 AM »
That stock is really messed up. I would probably ask Jim if I could buy a new stock

Offline bama

• Calvary Longrifles
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2018, 02:31:51 AM »
The old saying, they took a $1000 dollars worth the parts and was proceeding to make a $300 rifle out of it. :-X You do good work Robin and I have faith that you will save that rifle from the above fate. ;D

As good as Jim Kibler's kits are there is still a little skill involved in putting one together.

Good luck Robin, keep us posted on your progress.
Jim Parker

"An Honest Man is worth his weight in Gold"

Offline alex e.

« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2018, 04:17:23 AM »
My thoughts are together a new stock.
But I've repaired worse things
Good luck to you!