Author Topic: Best patch size/ material for .524 ITX roundball  (Read 2209 times)

Steve Patterson

Best patch size/ material for .524 ITX roundball
« on: October 06, 2018, 06:42:56 AM »
Help. I'm stuck in CA under the condor zone. Bought 30, .54 itx roundballs with a stated size of .524. I'm pretty new to blackpowder shooting. I've got a pedersoli frontier with a stated twist rate of 1:65. Has anyone worked up a load for something close to this? I'm using 3f powder. What size charge and patching should I start with? Ive got 4 kids so time and money are definately factors in begging for help at $12 for 10 balls
. :)
« Last Edit: October 07, 2018, 01:18:46 AM by Steve Patterson »

Offline smylee grouch

Re: Best patch size/ material for .524 ITX roundball
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2018, 07:17:08 AM »
If it were me, I would move to the US. OK other than that you will have to try some different patches and lube. At those prices it might hurt but start with 20/1000 thick tightly woven prewash denim.

Offline smylee grouch

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2018, 07:37:33 AM »
I forgot to ask in the last post, will this be for target shooting or hunting? Can you use lead for target shooting?

Steve Patterson

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2018, 07:40:22 AM »
Yeah, that'd be nice. Thank you. I'll start with that. What's the "normal" starting point you use for patches when working up a new load? 0.01 over total bore size or something? Ive done some reloading of unmentionables but I always had the reloading manual as a start point / guide. Didn't even know where to begin other than stuffing it as tight as i could with a light charge and moving up the powder until I got a good group.

This is for hunting. I use lead for target shooting and stump shooting

Steve Patterson

« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2018, 09:35:16 AM »
Oh I see what you're getting at. I'll see if I can find some .524 lead. Thanks for pulling my head out of..... the sand.

Offline Larry Pletcher

• Black Powder Mag