Author Topic: Schipper Class at Conner Prairie - Recommend?  (Read 1374 times)

Offline 120RIR

Schipper Class at Conner Prairie - Recommend?
« on: March 05, 2019, 06:28:25 AM »
I'm considering signing up for John Schipper's class at Conner Prairie this coming October.  I've been engraving primarily for the Rev War reenacting set for over 30 years but I'm completely self-taught and would like to improve my skills and expand my abilities.  I'd like to hear from guys out there who have taken comparable courses from him.  Your thoughts?

Offline P.Bigham

Re: Schipper Class at Conner Prairie - Recommend?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2019, 03:54:47 PM »
I took his class and would recommend it. Learned at lot and had a good time. Would also recommend Chuck Edwards. 
" not all who wander are lost"

Offline Mike Brooks

• Mike Brooks Gunmaker
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2019, 05:16:23 PM »
First thing he's going to do is to tell is to forget  everything you know. Then if you're right handed he's going to make you hold the bare graver in your right hand and the hammer in your left. I tried it, my left hand is too stupid to hit the graver with the hammer. ::) I must say, it sure work for him! You'll learn a lot about sharpening and design which are critical skills.
NEW WEBSITE! www.mikebrooksflintlocks.com
Say, any of you boys smithies? Or, if not smithies per se, were you otherwise trained in the metallurgic arts before straitened circumstances forced you into a life of aimless wanderin'?

Offline P.Bigham

« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2019, 06:13:17 PM »
Mikes right I forgot about the bare engaver I eventually put my handle back on.  I was used to engraving towards myself holding graver in left hand and hammer in right. 

Offline 120RIR

« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2019, 08:09:39 PM »