Author Topic: Hoyt Gain twist 58cal  (Read 1405 times)

Offline Mauser06

Hoyt Gain twist 58cal
« on: April 09, 2019, 01:43:03 AM »
Many have inquired about my 58cal gain twist barrel by Bobby Hoyt.   

I said I'd post shooting results as I shoot it.   The rifle is still being built but I like to test fire before finishing.   

I didn't shoot a ton.  15-20 shots at 50yds.  Didn't experiment much.

Last 4 shots are unmarked and in the horizontal line.   Only looks like 3 but I swear there's 4.

I'm no patch expert but they aren't burnt.  I think that's .018" ticking.   Lubed with mink oil. Could probably been lubed a little more..I just smeared them across the tin.  .570" Speer ball and 100gr of 2F Goex.

Shows good potential.  Even the "bad" groups were 3-4". 

Should also mention I was bored and made the front sight from the edge of a penny....I need something just a little thicker lol. It was about impossible to see. 

Offline stikshooter

Re: Hoyt Gain twist 58cal
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2019, 02:27:56 AM »
Looks good to me ,it only gets better after today/Ed

Offline Mauser06

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2019, 02:41:39 AM »
Rifle fires like a champ.  Everything works well.  And looking like it aughta shoot well.  I'm happy.   

A more visible front sight and some trial and error and I think it'll shoot very well.

Offline Daryl

« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2019, 03:23:03 AM »
The brown marks out around the periphery are from scorching of flame passing in the bottom of each groove, thus showing not quite a seal, but likely

OK with THAT powder charge. More powder or hotter burning powder might cut and burn the patch, hurting accuracy.

The brown in the centre of the patch that was on the bottom of the ball is due to burning off the lube & scorching, which is normal

unless more lube than needed was applied.
Daryl

"a gun without hammers is like a spaniel without ears" King George V

Offline Mauser06

« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2019, 04:29:26 AM »