Author Topic: My rifle  (Read 4195 times)

billd

My rifle
« on: June 27, 2009, 07:09:16 PM »
Here's a link to some pictures of a gun I have almost done.  I built it strictly for me to shoot, no claims to any particular style. I'll finish browning it after I sight it in.

I don't want to insult the fine builders of southern guns so I'm calling my gun a non-northern generic rifle built by a yankee. Except for building one of Dennis's Gillespie's it's my first attempt at this style.

This gun began it's life as a copy of Fred Miller's Fourdney pattern. I used that because it fit me perfect. From then on I just took off whatever wood looked like it didn't belong.

It's stocked in curly ash, finished with my own aqua fortis, a Rice 44" B weight .45 barrel, Chambers Late Ketland Lock that I should have rounded off. The trigger guard is one of Dennis's that I thinned down and stretched 3/8", trigger is a RE Davis that I slightly reshaped. The butt plate is an old H&H I found in Fred Millers shop.

I'm not happy with what browning I have done. I'll probably redo it. I started with Wakhon Bay Tru-Brown and wasn't happy with the way it was progressing so I put LMF over the top of it and it got too aggressive.

If your interested in seeing it here's the link to the pictures:  http://s62.photobucket.com/albums/h98/tobyje/ASH%20STOCKED%2045/

I took this gun down to Dave Keck and had him make me a duplicate in walnut I'm going to put a Rayle .25 barrel in.

Thanks for looking,
Bill

Offline G-Man

• Member 3
Re: My rifle
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2009, 07:42:37 PM »
Bill - looks nice. 

I have the same stock pattern with a 46 inch, 47 caliber Rayl barrel that is going to be used on a Joseph Bogle style gun.  That butt has enough height and width to make a wide variety of styles, depending on how much you take off the comb or toeline.

Guy

Offline Dennis Glazener

• Administrator
    • GillespieRifles
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2009, 09:29:20 PM »
Bill,