Author Topic: GPR Touch Hole/Vent Liner-Which One-Lyman or RMC?  (Read 5448 times)

fdf

GPR Touch Hole/Vent Liner-Which One-Lyman or RMC?
« on: June 27, 2009, 08:26:32 PM »
Thanks for the help on my last question.

Given a choice for a GPR Flintlock Lyman vent liner/ touch hole, would you chose the Lyman or RMC.  I have no knowledge of either.  I see some advantages to the Lyman, remove with a screw driver and the RMC is removed with an allen wrench. To me, I wonder if the RMC will strip out sooner since it uses an allen wrench to remove it versus a screw driver?

Some background information:  I am only going to shoot the rifle in line matches and in flintlock Ag's. Thus, it is not going to be shot a lot considering most matches are percussion.

I want to get three (3) spare liners.  Given a choice, what would you put in your box?

Thanks

fdf

frontier gander

Re: GPR Touch Hole/Vent Liner-Which One-Lyman or RMC?
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2009, 09:03:45 PM »
i used the RMC in my GPR. I currently use one in my traditions kentucky. Its very reliable.

Scott Semmel

« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2009, 10:31:25 PM »
I started with slotted liners, T/C, Dixie and Lyman, there was a time I thought the allen wrench liners were an improvement over the orignal liners you get with the above guns.
I now have Mr Chambers liners in all the rifles I shoot and have no desire to return to removable liners.
Why do you want spare liners?

fdf

« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2009, 12:05:20 AM »
In my question on "Touch Hole/Vent Liner Life Expectancy", it was recommended to have a spare. "   Thus, I thought I would get some spares.  For inexpensive things, spares are cheaper than shipping and handling.

In all honesty, I do not travel to shoots without spares for the most part of everything that I have.

Thanks

fdf 

40Haines

« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2009, 12:42:53 AM »

I have used both and have no preference.