Author Topic: JP Beck build - wood patchbox help  (Read 1702 times)

Offline archer829

JP Beck build - wood patchbox help
« on: June 03, 2019, 06:24:01 AM »
I have a bit of an obscure question.  I'm still working on the JP Beck rifle, and I've just about finished the wood patchbox, but I'm not sure about how the spring was attached on the underside of an original Beck patchbox lid.

Does anyone possibly have a picture of the underside of an original lid?

Also, I'm getting ahead of myself a bit here, but how much of the original lid and patchbox cavity was actually stained and sealed?  Dovetails?  Bottom of lid?  Inside of cavity?

Thanks for the help!

Jeff

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: JP Beck build - wood patchbox help
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2019, 09:12:19 AM »
I cannot comment in JP Beck wooden patch boxes but on most originals I’ve seen the cavity and underside of lid are not stained. Of course lids are sometimes replacements.
Andover, Vermont

Offline Lucky R A

• In Costume
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2019, 01:49:41 PM »
      I like Rich have not  examined a wooden box on a Beck.  I have seen the spring attachment on a fair number of his brass boxes and the spring is driven into a projection of wood that is left inside the box for this purpose.  Most early colonial period wooden boxes that I have examined had the spring chisel pointed and driven into the wood.  When I do this I usually burn in the cavity for the spring and then drive the box spring in securely.  The spring is not nearly as thick as those commercially supplied.  They are easily made from a 16p spike or the like.  The spike will already be headed...Ron
"The highest reward that God gives us for good work is the ability to do better work."  - Elbert Hubbard

Offline BOB HILL

« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2019, 02:04:25 PM »
I would definitely seal, if not humidity will have a great affect on the fit of your lid.
Bob
South Carolina Lowcountry

Offline Mike Brooks

• Mike Brooks Gunmaker