Author Topic: Rhode Island colonial musket help  (Read 1837 times)

flophound

Rhode Island colonial musket help
« on: June 10, 2019, 06:44:59 PM »
Hi All,
I work at the Rhode Island Historical Society. A hundred years or so ago someone donated the below musket, said to have found it in the rafters of the Williams Cottage, and thought to have belonged to Joseph Williams, son of Roger Williams the founder of the RI.
"J W 1667" is inscribed on the barrel. I'm no expert by any stretch but the only thing about the musket that says 1667 to me is that inscription. Everything else feels off. The barrel has a bayonet lug at the 3 o'clock position, for instance. My thinking is that is if the piece is legitimate, it has been rebuilt at least once (there is a "1799" scratched into the stock by the lock). Barring that, someone could have simply tried to manufacture some provenance for any number of reasons.
Any insight you could provide me with would be greatly appreciated.
Regards,
Ken

Offline 120RIR

Re: Rhode Island colonial musket help
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2019, 07:59:15 PM »
I'll let others with much more expertise than me weigh in on other aspects (but I do agree...nothing much here says 17th century) but that carved decorative band on the butt stock is really interesting.  At least to me it has a very Native American feel to it and that same general design shows up in ceramics and basketry work. 

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2019, 09:20:44 PM »
From a distance the stock profile is more like state militia guns than something earlier. Unless we could tell what wood it is stocked in I’d be stumped. Weird front extension for a musket guard. Weird to have a cheekpiece. Carving behind the cheekpiece looks Scandinavian maybe. Dave?  Brooksie? JV?
Andover, Vermont

timM

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2019, 10:20:51 PM »