Author Topic: Thoughts on this iron mounted rifle  (Read 4376 times)

Offline B.Barker

Thoughts on this iron mounted rifle
« on: February 02, 2020, 05:22:58 AM »
I was looking for Leman trade rifle photo's on the web a few days back and ran across this rifle. It looks southern to me with western use among the tribes. The "hook" coming off the trigger bow looks like a later add on, maybe better hold while on horse back. Looks like it was built with a short barrel too. Anyone here of any stories of southern smiths building rifles specifically for western use? Or maybe just a fake. There was no description just the photo.

Offline Vaquero

Re: Thoughts on this iron mounted rifle
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2020, 05:59:06 AM »
I’m no expert, but it looks similar to rifle attributed to Jim Beckworth.

Online JTR

• member 2
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2020, 06:13:37 AM »
I would think its an old gun. The wrist has been broken, so the wrapping around it might an original fix,,, or might not be.
The notch behind the hammer looks old, and would indicate the gun was originally a flint. But the current lock was never a flint so its a replacement from some time. It does look as an old original though.
The barrel looks like it might have been cut back a bit from the breech end, maybe when it was percussionized.
The tacks. Good question. They look old, but its easy to make new tacks look old. And the square shank thing is no good any longer as a qualifier, as you can buy square shank brass tacks nowadays.
In the end, Hmmm. Injun guns have been faked by lots of guys for many years. But there are real ones out there too.
John Robbins

Offline cshirsch

« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2020, 03:16:40 PM »
The original trigger guard was probably broken when the wrist was broken.  The iron guard was most likely replaced when the gun was repaired.

Offline Elnathan

« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2020, 03:35:21 PM »