Author Topic: Case for a pattern  (Read 2623 times)

Offline VP

Case for a pattern
« on: July 05, 2009, 08:16:05 PM »
One of my goals for Dixon's this year was to purchase the parts necessary to attempt to build a Leigh style rifle. I favor the style of gun, especially RCA #57 by Herman Rupp or a Jacob Kuntz. I have a lot of reference material and lots of photographs of antiques and contemporary guns. I understand, after listening to Eric's seminar last year at Dixon's I could develop a pattern from these sources. However as a new builder I would be more comfortable with a full size pattern to develop the complex architecture. Would someone have a pattern I could copy at Dixon's or a close contemporary that I could pattern? I used the info from Eric's seminar to develop the equipment to make a pattern. If this is possible, I would be glad to try to make the pattern a series of 8 x 11 match line drawings that could be reproduced by anyone with a common printer. I think these would be a valuable asset to have placed on the ALR for all schools of guns along with the photos of the guns, at least for us Newbie's. Can anyone help?

Van Pitman

Offline smallpatch

• Dane Lund
Re: Case for a pattern
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2009, 12:04:41 AM »
I for one, and probably many others, would LOVE go have full sized drawings of many styles of longrifles.  Especially Lehighs.  The problem that I see, is that most of the REAL builders, (myself NOT included), have spent countless hours designing, redesigning, drawing, cutting, redrawing, and re-cutting to come up with their designs.  I'm sure that most would not be willing to share all those trade secrets.  Kind of like giving away an investment that you've made for your future.  "Tricks of the Trade", so to speak.
However, I would stand in line to get said drawings, even at a fee!!