Author Topic: Barrel Rifling decision  (Read 6078 times)

Steamingspud

Barrel Rifling decision
« on: July 26, 2009, 11:33:15 PM »
Hey Guys,
I'm in debate about a new rifle barrel. I can either pay $160 for a Colerain 1-56" twist or a $109 for a Green Mountain 1-70" twist. This will be a .50 cal 42 inch flintlock, my question is of the rifling.
I compete with flintlocks at frontiersman reenactments, and I'm wondering if the 1-56"twist will be worth the $50 over the 1-70". I figured this was more a shooting question than a building question.
Another thing, I've heard tall tales of making a 400 yard shot with a 42" barrel, 1-56" twist. Do you think that's possible?
Thanks

reklaus

Re: Barrel Rifling decision
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2009, 01:56:34 AM »
First let me say that I am new to muzzleloading so you can take what I type with a grain of salt.
I have been doing quite a bit of research on muzzleloading rifles and long range shooting in the 1850-1870 era. From what I have read so far, most round ball rifles that were considered accurate for that time used something in the 1:66 to 1:70 twist rate. It wasn't until "bullets" that were longer than their diameter that faster rates became used. I don't now how much experimenting with round ball was done before Whitworth and others did their experiments with "bullet" shaped projectiles. Some good reading on the subject can be found here: http://www.lrml.org/historical/index.htm
R.E. Klaus

BrownBear

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2009, 02:32:47 AM »
My experience with longrange RB shooting stops at 300 yards, but when I hear claims, historical account or any other reference to 400 yard shooting, I have one reaction:  Show me.  Hit the mark consistently, heck even estimate the range accurately, and I'll believe it.  Otherwise I read it as pure horsepucky.  Sure a guy might get lucky with a one shot hit, but take that kind of luck to Vegas and make your fortune.