Author Topic: Caster Recommendations?  (Read 1332 times)

Offline 120RIR

Caster Recommendations?
« on: November 12, 2019, 08:20:35 AM »
I'm looking for a good caster who will take on sporadic and typically very small orders in silver, gold, brass, etc. for my occasional restoration and fabrication projects.  I'm not a big production guy - small customer only.  For 30+ years I used Cranston Casting but the owner retired and sent me to C.A. Brown (also in Cranston, Rhode Island) but now they too seem to be closed.  Can anyone help?

Offline Mike Brooks

• Mike Brooks Gunmaker
Re: Caster Recommendations?
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2019, 04:12:38 PM »
If you need sand casting of brass let me know.
NEW WEBSITE! www.mikebrooksflintlocks.com
Say, any of you boys smithies? Or, if not smithies per se, were you otherwise trained in the metallurgic arts before straitened circumstances forced you into a life of aimless wanderin'?

Offline Craig Wilcox

« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2019, 05:08:41 PM »
I've seen some of Mike's castings, and he is top notch!
Mike, casting silver is not much different from casting brass, just use  a bit more flux.  It REALLY transmits heat fast!
Craig Wilcox
We are all elated when Dame Fortune smiles at us, but remember that she is always closely followed by her daughter, Miss Fortune.

Offline t.caster

« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2019, 05:55:43 PM »