Author Topic: Idenitfying a barrel  (Read 1717 times)

Offline General

Idenitfying a barrel
« on: December 06, 2019, 03:08:24 AM »
  I purchased this signed "J K" cap barrel a couple years ago and want to restock it.  I would like to find out, if possible, who the original builder was so I can get it back to basically what it was.  I am no professional builder so I say close to.  Any information would be appreciated.  The barrel is 43 1/16" with a slight swamp, 1" breech, 15/16" waist and 1" muzzle.  It has 4 underlugs, very small front and rear sights.  It has the smallest barrel for the nipple that I've ever seen and the tang is curved 3 1/2" long with one screw hole.  I don't know if there any tell tail parts to give it away or not.  The breech plug is not seated completely as I don't want to create any unnecessary marks on the barrel.  Thanks all, General 

image upload

image hosting

« Last Edit: December 06, 2019, 05:08:23 AM by General »
Best Wishes to all
                  George Patton

Offline Daryl

Re: Idenitfying a barrel
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2019, 03:59:47 AM »
What's the interior like. Appears quite rusty, but hard to tell.
Second picture from the bottom. Ah - front sight.
The rocks are nicely in focus.
Daryl

"a gun without hammers is like a spaniel without ears" King George V

Offline General

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2019, 04:02:12 AM »
 The rifling is great but its pretty dark in the well.  I think I can work most of it out.  I haven't decided if I will shoot it or just hang it. 
Best Wishes to all
                  George Patton

Offline Cades Cove Fiddler

« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2019, 04:32:48 AM »