Author Topic: Prepping Patching?  (Read 1955 times)

Smokey Plainsman

Prepping Patching?
« on: December 06, 2019, 06:32:09 AM »
I propose a possible pondering about preparing patching for my pals here, that is to say, when one obtains fresh patching material (ticking, linen, drill, etc.) from the store, how does one go about preparing it for shooting?

I just made a run to Jo-Ann’s fabric store and bought two varieties of 100% cotton pillow ticking and some no. 40 unbleached drill. I’ve read it’s best to remove the “sizing” from the patching, sizing being a chemical substance applied to the cloth as it is manufactured.

Should I wash it in the washing machine? If so, what setting? Cold, hot, warm? Also, how should it be tried? On low heat, high heat, or hung to dry?

Just making sure I don’t ruin it. You all must think I’m a total boob asking these things, but I’m just trying to do it right the first time and trying to learn from you all here as I’m new to all of this.

Thanks!

-Smokey

Offline msellers

Re: Prepping Patching?
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2019, 06:37:30 AM »
I wash mine just like normal, and dry with my regualr laundry. With luck, it will tighten up the weave making for better patching material.
There is alot of additional information in this thread.
https://americanlongrifles.org/forum/index.php?topic=55120.0

Mike

Offline MuskratMike

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2019, 06:57:38 AM »
I also wash it in the washing machine but use hot water. It seems to tighten up the weave a little more and then run it through the dryer. Probably makes little difference but do wash it to remove the sizing and use no fabric softener.
Might seem like a too basic of a question, but it is a vital step.
"Muskrat" Mike McGuire
Keep your eyes on the skyline, your flint sharp and powder dry.

Offline Brokennock

« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2019, 08:48:01 AM »