Author Topic: Five F powder use..  (Read 2887 times)

Offline oldtravler61

• We all make mistakes.
Five F powder use..
« on: December 16, 2019, 07:05:27 PM »
  Could someone explain what 5 f powder is used for.. Sounds crazy but I have little knowledge of its use..or I just flat don't remember ?  Is it like flash powder..?  I mix a tiny bit with my 4 f an it sure makes the flinter fast as lighting... Thanks Oldtravler...

Offline Scota4570

Re: Five F powder use..
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2019, 08:09:20 PM »
Flash powder is a zinc, aluminum, potassium perchlorate mix.  It is a real explosive with a much higher velocity than BP.  Very hot stuff.  It also produces a huge white flash, it was used for photographs before the electronic flash.  It is also used in fireworks and by magicians for stage shows.  You do not want it anywhere near a firearm.  No matter it is tightly controlled today. 

5F sounds like null-b or at least similar. 

Offline Daryl

« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2019, 09:08:58 PM »
I've heard of 5F & Null B. Similar in that they were very fine (finer than 4F) priming powder.
Daryl

"a gun without hammers is like a spaniel without ears" King George V

Offline Hungry Horse

« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2019, 08:34:42 PM »
Another nutty idea for shooters that think there is some magic powder, lube, patching, or cleaning material, that will make them a champion shooter without investing major range time.

Hungry Horse

Offline Bob McBride

• TENNESSEE
    • Black Powder TV
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2019, 08:38:50 PM »
Here’s a video I just did for new shooters regarding powder. At 1:35 I show close up pictures of the different granulation including null-b. It is very fine.

Offline oldtravler61

• We all make mistakes.
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2019, 05:00:34 AM »