Author Topic: Does anyone recognize this longrifle ?  (Read 2511 times)

Online Dave Tercek

• Starting Member
Does anyone recognize this longrifle ?
« on: January 16, 2020, 12:23:00 AM »
I got to take a look at this rifle today. I thought I got some good photos but only four are decent. I'm pretty sure the gun has been cut. Maybe converted from flint. There is a modern sight installed. But it does have some good qualities. Here is what i I have.

« Last Edit: January 16, 2020, 05:14:31 AM by Ky-Flinter »

Offline flintlock hunter

Re: Does anyone recognize this longrifle ?
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2020, 12:39:41 AM »
The patch box finial and trigger guard look western Pa. But I'm no expert.
Barry

Offline FALout

« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2020, 04:33:42 AM »
Highly doubt it was a flint due to single lock bolt, nothing on the lock plate indicates being reworked for percussion.  The rifle looks like it’s from Ohio, narrow trigger guard, dished scallops on PB finial and the cutout look like guns in “Ohio Gunsmiths & Allied Tradesman”.
Bob

Online Dave Tercek

• Starting Member
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2020, 05:00:31 AM »
Thanks, I guess I was assuming a conversion  because I assuming a cut barrel. The rear sight seems to be set back pretty far. I guess I should try and get another, better look at the rifle.  If I do I'll get some better photos.

Offline Shreckmeister

• GGGG Grandpa Schrecengost Gunsmith/Miller
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2020, 04:48:06 PM »
The barrel looks pretty crusty. There may be a signature under that. Western Pennsylvania or Ohio seem likely. A picture of the cheek side of the butt stock Might help. It’s a nice looking percussion
Rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the rights of the individual.

Offline Eric Krewson