Author Topic: First Timer Decision  (Read 2527 times)

Offline DHouse

First Timer Decision
« on: January 23, 2020, 08:50:21 PM »
Good Day All,

My first post, just a brief intro, I've never shot a flintlock, I've built/shot my own small cannons, shot full scale Civil War cannons in reenactments and handled gunpowder and firearms many times. I'm also a CNC/Wood/Metal fabricator by trade and foreman of said trades. I therefore slowly familiarized myself with the Contemporary Longrifle Culture over the last few years and by gosh no one is gonna stop me from building this rifle. It dawns on me that my recent re-discovering of hunting has inspired this most recent fixation I have to get game with a flinter. I'm clearly not the first. I am primed to purchase a Chambers kit. Specifically the New England fowler.

My intention is to one day have both a turkey gun, and a deer gun. Now, I am wanting a fowler at first, so that I can hunt turkey first and foremost. Secondly, I'd enjoy harvesting a deer with it using a ball should I get lucky and have an opportunity within effective range. I'm far removed from the area of the country where I can easily attend the 18th century/longrifle shows to chat with anyone or hold a few pieces like I'd prefer. Anyway, my question is on bore size. I'd like to get a 10ga fowler as it seems lightweight and powerful. My concern is this. Is it enjoyable to shoot? I'm 6' 200lbs and only a grey hair or two, so I am not sure if I might really like it, or if it is a beast that will beat me up when I try to pattern it and I'll just resent the whole deal after all the time and money. I've picked the brain of all my hunting mentors and while great experienced hunters, they simply have had no exposure to flintlocks or any muzzleloaders for that matter.

I am planning to attend the Alafia River Rendesvous on Saturday and have my fingers crossed I might get to see me a flintlock or two.