Author Topic: What Is A Good First Flintlock?  (Read 3105 times)

steam

What Is A Good First Flintlock?
« on: February 22, 2020, 11:56:41 PM »
  I am just beginning to learn about flintlock s.  I have been looking at various members flintlocks on this forum, it is amazing, the talent here is really special.  Some of the guns are very elaborately adorned, and some are very simply done.    I am beginning to see that the carving of the rifle's basic shape, is where the beauty begins. I like guns adorned in iron, I also like brass.  I have a feeling that their is no way to get by with one flintlock! 

I am giving myself one year to, look at, handle, shoot, and study flintlocks, before I purchase my first rifle. Is this overly cautious?  What kind of budget is realistic for a newcomer?  I like using my hands, is a kit a possible wise choice?

-steam-

Offline Stoner creek

Re: What Is A Good First Flintlock?
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2020, 12:23:18 AM »
That’s about like saying “I want a car. What kind should I get?” Do you want an optioned out hot rod or an economy sedan?
 Look around and see what strikes your fancy, then start asking questions. Do yo want a target shooter, a hunter, a 100% historically accurate collectible?
 Ask yourself the questions. You’ll come up with the answer. 
Stop Marxism in America

Offline smallpatch

• Dane Lund
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2020, 01:00:22 AM »
You will NOT be disappointed with a Kibler kit.
Any one can make a decent gun out of one of these.  Either the Mountain rifle, or the Colonial.  Need very few special tools, a little patience, a little time, and you'll have a well designed, architecturally correct rifle.
In His grip,

Dane

Offline bob in the woods

« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2020, 01:14:44 AM »