Author Topic: Hello.... new guy with a new old flintlock.....  (Read 3337 times)

Offline Hooch

• Starting Member
Hello.... new guy with a new old flintlock.....
« on: March 02, 2020, 02:57:53 AM »
Hello, I have been an avid reader but don’t post much...... I’m still learning. After owning a TC hawken 50 for years I sent it down the road and awhile back I finally bought a nice hawken/plains style full stock flintlock made by Jim Searles back in the 70’s. It is 58 caliber. Beautiful old rifle with a piece of timber that makes my jaw drop. Now I’m real good at looking at it but need to get going in the right direction so I can be proficient with it and having never owned a flintlock I could sure use some direction. Not sure what grade powder to use as far as loading and priming...... optimum size ball and ticking etc. and grain/load?  So if someone has time to explain things to this greenhorn I’d be mighty appreciative!!! Craig
« Last Edit: March 02, 2020, 03:54:28 AM by Hooch »

Offline Tilefish

Re: Hello.... new guy with a new old flintlock.....
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2020, 03:35:53 AM »
Greetings Hooch, 2f for the rifle 4f for the pan. .570 ball would be a good starting point.
Chad

Offline Hooch

• Starting Member
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2020, 03:54:47 AM »
Thank you kindly!!

Offline MuskratMike

« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2020, 04:00:44 AM »
I agree 2F for the rifle, 4F for the pan. Post some pictures of the rifle. Welcome and keep at it.
"Muskrat" Mike McGuire
Keep your eyes on the skyline, your flint sharp and powder dry.

Offline Daryl

« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2020, 04:32:39 AM »
With that .570" ball, I would suggest 10oz. or 11oz. denim (Joanne's Fabrics).  10oz. denim will also work well with a .575" ball, which would be my preference.
A water based lube for target shooting, where the gun does not sit a long time loaded.  Use an oil or grease-type lube for hunting, like Track's mink oil