Offline Longknife

Stock
« on: March 13, 2020, 11:51:22 PM »
And how about this stock? Any opinion welcome, thanks Ed

Ed Hamberg

Online Niall

Re: Stock
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2020, 01:52:39 PM »
Homemade  copy of a trade musket using local timber and forged iron furniture.?

Offline Marcruger

« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2020, 05:14:47 PM »
"Homemade  copy of a trade musket using local timber and forged iron furniture.?"

With all due respect, I think I would have to disagree.  When I hear the term "homemade" it brings to mind crude work.  The molding around those lock panels says to me an experienced gun stocker/gun maker crafted that wood.  I also personally like the buttstock lines of that gun.  With relatively modest drop and a straight comb, I doubt it was hard recoiling.  Of course, I am no expert and those that are will weigh in here soon I am sure. 

God Bless,   Marc

Online backsplash75

« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2020, 06:38:05 PM »
It looks like an early federal mixmaster parts/composite restocking. Buttplate and other fittings look vaguely Dutch, but that long buttplate finial is usually wider and in brass on muskets found in the USA.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2020, 06:41:07 PM by backsplash75 »

Offline Robert Wolfe

• Great X Grandpa
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2020, 05:57:19 PM »
Looks like a parts gun (and there is nothing wrong with that in my view). Deserves to be put back together.
Robert Wolfe
Northern Indiana

Offline Robert Wolfe

• Great X Grandpa
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2020, 06:01:12 PM »
Interesting that the lock mortise seems to be largely drilled out. Note the line of lead screw holes from the drill bit.
Robert Wolfe
Northern Indiana

Online Eric Kettenburg

• Eric Kettenburg
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2020, 07:21:13 PM »
Interesting that the lock mortise seems to be largely drilled out. Note the line of lead screw holes from the drill bit.