Author Topic: Gun flint found on Civil War site  (Read 4270 times)

Offline jwhiteker

• Starting Member
Gun flint found on Civil War site
« on: June 09, 2020, 03:37:26 PM »

Can anyone help me identify this flint and possibly the type of rifle or gun it could've been used with.  I'm hoping it's identifiable since it is new, or only fired a small number of times.  I found it while looking for arrowheads on what is believed to be the site of a fort from the Civil War.  The area also had a huge Native American starvation during that time as well.  It seems odd to me that someone would've been carrying an old flint lock rifle in Civil War times, but I'm far from an expert on the time period.  It seems to me this would have been closer to Rev. war time?  Possibly a French or Britian imported flint?  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Offline Stoner creek

Re: Gun flint found on Civil War site
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2020, 04:17:26 PM »
French Honey Amber flint. We see more of these in historic context here in central Kentucky than the black English flints.
Stop Marxism in America

Offline Bill Weedman

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2020, 01:33:58 PM »
Blade flint (not spall) so post 1770 ish

Offline Pukka Bundook

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2020, 04:16:21 PM »
Stoner,
Yes they call these French flints, but just wanted to say that back in our part of the UK,(N Yorkshire), we used to find a lot of flint this colour, that had been   napped in Neolithic times.
As the big reserves of flint from further south were the good black flint, you Now have  me wondering if the flint shards and tools we found were made from flint imported across the North sea?

Nice find, Mr J! 
It looks rather used to me, (I think)

Offline jwhiteker

• Starting Member
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2020, 05:11:38 PM »