Author Topic: Developing a Load Article  (Read 1533 times)

John Morris

Developing a Load Article
« on: June 28, 2020, 02:57:39 AM »
Good day folks, I am new at this, completely new, so anything I find you all have probably seen it. But just in case there are some green folks here like me, I found this article to be a great instructional manual on developing a load. Or not? I would not know a bad article on developing a load if it bit me in the face at this point, but using my common sense, this writing seems to be pretty helpful.

See at: http://traditionalmuzzleloader.com/index.php/developing-an-accurate-load-for-a-black-powder-muzzleloading-rifle by Steve Sells.
Also, is there a relevant article here on ALR that addresses the same challenge of developing a load? I may have missed it. I am not trying to send folks off of ALR, specially if there is an article here already.
Thanks

Offline Daryl

Re: Developing a Load Article
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2020, 03:23:31 AM »
John please, before you even start to work up a load, do a search on muzzle crowning. There should be some threads here and pictures on this.
Daryl

"a gun without hammers is like a spaniel without ears" King George V

John Morris

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2020, 04:09:09 AM »
John please, before you even start to work up a load, do a search on muzzle crowning. There should be some threads here and pictures on this.
Thanks a million Daryl, I do have that at the top of my list, one of the gents in my Got My Gun topic showed me a nice little "how to" on that with photos! Thanks for the reminder! Here it is https://americanlongrifles.org/forum/index.php?topic=60658.msg607667#msg607667

Offline Daryl

« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2020, 10:04:45 PM »
Interesting article, thanks for posting the link, John.
I am not sure about the ballistol/water/drying patch lube for hunting.
That would have to be tested. I did not see if he was able to shoot without
having to wipe the bore. Must have missed that.
Daryl