Author Topic: Curly red maple  (Read 3255 times)

Offline GANGGREEN

Curly red maple
« on: August 16, 2020, 02:02:46 AM »
I saw the discussion about Sassafras, Butternut and other woods as stock wood.   I recently saw a social media post about Butternut and asked if it was hard enough to be appropriate and I'm glad to see that it has been used to some degree.  It's really beautiful wood, I may have a small source and I wouldn't mind trying it. 

More to the point, I was recently at a small sawmill and inquired about curly maple. The owner has built a few rifles himself and as such, he keeps his eyes open.  He said that he hasn't found any decent curly hard maple, only soft, as if it was like finding a pile of sumac branches or something.  He claims that he gets lots of curly soft maple, sometimes very fancy stuff too, but he never keeps it because he's been led to believe that it's too soft for stock wood.

I told him what I believe to be true (and I'm far from an expert gunbuilder or wood guy), which is that hard maple and soft maple both have varying degrees of density and hardness and that soft maple can be very appropriate for gun stocks.  He seemed surprised to learn that and told me that he'll keep his eyes open for me.  Was my advice to him accurate or is his belief that Red/soft maple is rarely or never hard enough more correct?   

I suspect that it's still less common than he suggested, but I've got visions of him swimming in this premium soft maple that he's making pallets out of.   :o

Online Stoner creek

Re: Curly red maple
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2020, 02:13:10 AM »
Red (soft) maple (Acer Rubrum) has been used since way back. Some is so soft that it is undesirable and others can be hard enough to do fine relief carving on. Just depends on the tree. The one thing your friend may have misunderstood could have been Silver Maple instead of red maple. I wouldn’t use Silver maple in a fireplace.
Stop Marxism in America

Offline GANGGREEN