Author Topic: Antique rifle info needed  (Read 2466 times)

Offline sqrldog

Antique rifle info needed
« on: July 15, 2020, 06:15:44 PM »
I don't own or have a financial interest in this rifle. A friend that does own it asked me about it. I have no experience in antique rifles so I am posting pictures for your thoughts and comments. Tim Cosby

Offline sqrldog

Re: Antique rifle info needed
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2020, 06:21:21 PM »

Offline sqrldog

« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2020, 06:23:47 PM »

Offline Eric Kettenburg

• Eric Kettenburg
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2020, 06:31:02 PM »
It's a restocked Joseph Angstadt rifle; where or when it was restocked I couldn't say.
Strange women lying in ponds, distributing swords, is no basis for a system of government!

Offline WESTbury

• Marble Mountain central I Corps May 1969
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2020, 07:31:04 PM »
It's a great looking rifle. Whoever did the restock was evidently very skilled. Do you have any particulars on it, length, caliber, rifled or smooth bore?

To state the obvious, like 95% + of these old longrifles, it has a reconverted lock. Your friend is a lucky person.
"We are not about to send American Boys 9 to 10 thousand miles away from home to do what Asian Boys ought to be doing for themselves."
President Lyndon B. Johnson October 21, 1964

Offline Eric Kettenburg

• Eric Kettenburg
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2020, 07:50:44 PM »
It looks like a really old restock.  Initially my gut was that it was sometime mid-20th century, but the more I look at it, I do see some signs that it may be older.  Very tough to make decisive declarations based only on photos!  It's an interesting piece although my primary interest is in the barrel signature. 
Strange women lying in ponds, distributing swords, is no basis for a system of government!

Offline Eric Kettenburg

• Eric Kettenburg
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2020, 07:52:39 PM »