Author Topic: Hawken Front Sight  (Read 3226 times)

Offline STJ1954

• Starting Member
Hawken Front Sight
« on: July 25, 2020, 12:17:58 AM »
I have been working on guns for 30+ years, mostly modern. Always had a liking to Hawken rifles. Built one from parts set several years ago. Had the chance to see Don Stith and talk to him during the build. I have a question and I have never put my hands on original Hawken, only seen pictures. I have seen the front sight installed two ways. The tall section to the front, and tall section to the back. I have 2 sets of instructions for Hawken both have the tall section to the butt of the rifle. I see a lot Kentucky style rifle with the same sight. They are installed tall end to the muzzle. Would like some feed back on this. (Hope the picture works)

Offline Clark Badgett

• Oklahoma
Re: Hawken Front Sight
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2020, 12:35:34 AM »
Usually tall end to the butt end works best.
Psalms 144

Offline Daryl

« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2020, 05:12:49 AM »
I have never seen such a designed front sight with the tall end to the muzzle on any gun with the sight mounted correctly.  ;)
Daryl

"a gun without hammers is like a spaniel without ears" King George V

Offline 45-110

« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2020, 02:12:34 PM »
Seen plenty of sights with tall end towards muzzle (not on Hawkens though), right or wrong and the owner may have be reinstalled that way. Same concept as a ramp front sight on a revolver.
kw

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2020, 09:23:43 PM »
I always install my front sight with the taller portion to the rear.  And since I file out my own sights, I eliminate the convex shape on the back end, preferring it to be perfectly vertical.  Then I cut a 45 deg. slope on the top tip so that the facet created is a square.  I polish this bright and when shooting in poor light, that little facet shows as a round glowing sight that is easy to align with the notch of the rear sight.