Author Topic: Introduction and some .40 cal questions  (Read 5103 times)

Brian Stuart

Introduction and some .40 cal questions
« on: August 18, 2020, 06:35:49 PM »
I got the longrifle bug a few days ago and quickly found this forum, which seems like it has lots of knowledgeable folks with many years experience. I'm new to flintlocks but have been hunting with a percussion T/C New Englander in .54 cal for a few years. After looking at build photos, my factory rifle feels a bit soulless. I'd like to build a couple kit rifles, one in .54 and another in .40. These will be primarily for hunting with plinking/target work a fun secondary purpose.

The .40 is appealing because I can legally hunt deer with it, but it's small enough to use on turkeys, squirrels, and other small game. I'd hoped to use patched round ball for small game and conical bullets for deer, but after reading a thread here it seems the consensus is that PRB is the way to go; the major problem with conicals is they don't stabilize in PRB twist barrels and deflect/yaw when they hit game. I also couldn't find any Minie or conicals in .40, though I found them in every other caliber including .32! Has anyone tried shooting cast .40 pistol bullets in a standard 1-in-48 twist barrel? The extra projectile weight would give me more confidence in taking down larger bucks, but maybe ball is fine and I should stop worrying about it?

Offline snapper

Re: Introduction and some .40 cal questions
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2020, 07:11:47 PM »
Brain

Welcome to one of the best places on the web.   Lots of good folks that are very smart hang out here, and a few old curmudgeons help keep it interesting.

I am going to approach your questions from a different angle.  If you are going to have both a .54 and a .40 why hunt deer with the .40?   I have quite a few .54's and a couple of .40 cal.   In Iowa you can not hunt deer with a .40 cal as it is deemed to small.