Author Topic: Scottish Deer Rifle  (Read 5401 times)

Offline Feltwad

Scottish Deer Rifle
« on: August 19, 2020, 12:36:13 PM »
Came across this rifle a couple of months ago by William Landell of Glasgow. It is a 14 bore octangle Damascus twist built in 1840  4 grove rifling barrel and its length is 39 inches   with a 3 position sight of which 2 are leaf sight  and also a  set trigger .I am sure this gun was built for stalking deer on the Scottish hills  but with its 39 inch octangle barrel the gun is muzzle heavy  but fitted has part of the barrel at the muzzle end is a fitting  similar to a bayonet fitting which I believe is for fitting a stick support when sighting in too shooting the quarry . I have been restoring and shooting muzzle loaders  for many decades and it is the first time I have come across this device  maybe some members have.
Feltwad

Offline Molly

Re: Scottish Deer Rifle
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2020, 01:42:37 PM »
Now that IS interesting!  Offset ram rod?  Damascus?  Is it real Damascus or just a Damascus finish?  Looks real.  I'd put that one in the "seemed like a good idea at the time" category.

Offline Feltwad

« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2020, 02:40:48 PM »
Yes it is defiantly Damas twist
Feltwad

Offline WESTbury

• Marble Mountain central I Corps May 1969
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2020, 02:52:47 PM »
Now that IS interesting!  Offset ram rod? 

I do not think the ramrod is offset. The rib, to which it is fitted, looks to be squarely on the bottom flat of the barrel.
"We are not about to send American Boys 9 to 10 thousand miles away from home to do what Asian Boys ought to be doing for themselves."
President Lyndon B. Johnson October 21, 1964

Offline Feltwad

« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2020, 03:01:46 PM »
That is correct
Feltwad

Offline Avlrc

• Hampshire County Long Rifles
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2020, 03:06:46 PM »