Author Topic: witch hazel and its use?  (Read 3685 times)

Offline adkmountainken

witch hazel and its use?
« on: August 30, 2020, 03:14:05 AM »
ok i know many people use witch hazel in their cleaning because of its fast drying qualities so i would love to hear some recommendations or tips on how to use it.

Offline Hungry Horse

Re: witch hazel and its use?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2020, 04:36:48 PM »
 Really “many people use Witch Hazel for cleaning” well you’re the first I heard of. I imagine its just a matter of time before somebody starts touting Preperation H for cleaning, because it tightens up your groups. I have been shooting black powder for over forty years, and went through all the different concoctions being touted as the cats meow for cleaning muzzleloaders and finally found out the old timers were right all along. The big secret is cold water, and plenty of it. I pour the barrel full, let it sit for fifteen, or twenty minutes, pour it out, refill it, and shake it back and forth a little. Pour it out, then run four or five dry patches through it,  followed by one oil saturated patch, any your done.

Hungry Horse

Offline adkmountainken

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2020, 05:51:45 PM »
i have saw it a few times listed as an ingredient in moose milk but then again there are a million different versions of moose milk.

Offline smylee grouch

« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2020, 05:59:44 PM »
Hungry Horse is right, we don,t need to reinvent the wheel here. Yes the old timers including Harris Holland of Holland and Holland were right, cold water and dry patches.

Offline WadePatton

• Tennessee
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2020, 06:41:42 PM »
I use witch hazel in the bathroom.

Got no use for it in the gun room or the range.

FWIW the USP defined witch hazel is about 14% alcohol as I recall.  Don't have a fresh bottle at present. 

It's a mild astringent and makes rough and ready TP into nice and comfy TP.  for those who wanted TMI.  :P
Hold to the Wind