Author Topic: Pleased but Confused  (Read 4147 times)

Offline ToddCook

• Starting Member
Pleased but Confused
« on: October 03, 2020, 02:08:50 AM »
Today is the first chance I've had to shoot since trying Daryl's crown treatment. I wore out a 2" orange dot at 50 yards and was really pleased. Still am really. I'm still fairly new at this and it was the best flintlock shooting I've done yet. Our season opens Oct 10 and if I miss a deer it won't be the guns fault. But when I picked up the patches they were not at all what I expected. The grass was high so I only found a few of them.

Green Mtn barrel. .54 cal, .530 ball and .22 denim patch with neetsfoot oil.90 gf ffg. Not sure what to make of it.

Offline Daryl

Re: Pleased but Confused
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2020, 02:13:40 AM »
Yikes!  Badly cut on loading, it looks like & thus not sealing.
Can you take a closeup of your muzzle, Todd?

The accuracy sounds quite good for starters.
How was the patch material measured?
 It looks like blue denim.
What was loading like?
Daryl

"a gun without hammers is like a spaniel without ears" King George V

Offline bob in the woods

« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2020, 02:56:14 AM »
How old are the patches ?   Did you perhaps prelube them and they have sat for some time ?
I only mention this because I've seen patches lose their strength over time when lubed and then stored.
Otherwise, I agree with Daryl .

Online EC121

« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2020, 03:12:06 AM »
Load a ball just into the muzzle with a big piece of lubed patching then use the patching to pull it back out.  Look for cuts for cuts in the patching.  Your patches almost look rotten or really undersized(thin) instead of cut.
Brice Stultz

Offline Stoner creek

« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2020, 03:25:53 AM »
Try a thinner patch. It will load easier too. Denim is pretty thick. That barrel will shoot.
Stop Marxism in America

Offline ToddCook

• Starting Member
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2020, 03:29:35 AM »